Posted by: Mike P. | March 29, 2010

I Needed an Excuse to Get One of These; Now I Have One!


http://www.tuaw.com/2010/03/29/apple-boycotts-fox-news-because-of-glenn-beck/

The link says it all, and I think this is a good enough reason to buy an iPad, whether you need one or not.

Edit: I thought I would just update this page since the info isn’t earth shattering. First,
I thought this was a good review because it was for both tech people and general users. It had a few extra tidbits such as the cost of the wireless plan for next month’s 3g version. $30/month, flatrate, and you can buy 250mb of transfer for less, $15? It is in the review. Anyhow, the point is that the service is plan free. So, you can get by with hotspots for most of the year, and get 3g for the summer and the beach. And pay $15 at Christmas when you go home to visit your parents at their broadband free home. Or not and hitch a ride off their neighbor’s open WAP.

Edit: This link needs to be here. It’s a great tradition.

Responses

  1. YES! Now I have an excuse too! haha

    • We have an non-3G version on order at work, and a 3g version. I asked for the non-3g version when the 3g gets here. So, me no hafta fork out my own money. Yay! It is more than I thought it was. It has something similar to iWorks on it, and it does support Bluetooth, so keyboards and printers are options. I still don’t know much about printing. Probably need a fairly specific printer. I’ve heard lots complaints about no camera. Are there cameras that can communicate via Bluetooth? I think if it can do most of what people want a computer to do, it will be useful. Myself, not likely. But, I have been systems programmers since 1982 and really like terminal windows. You should see the email client I use. ‘alpine’. It has a terminal interface. But, nothing I’ve ever used dispatches thousands of messages as quickly as this program.

      See, this is what happens when I don’t write blog posts; I end up writing ridiculously comments 🙂

      • I like that you take time to comment, me? I find it hard to make the time. I’m friggin’ ALWAYS working! I’m totally blowing off more important things right now for example. Must remember to wipe work internet history.

        I feel rebellious. Five minutes of pretending to work. Muahahah.

        Ok back to work.

        p.s. I’m finding all kinds of reasons why I “need” the ipad… But honestly I just see it as a step in going completely paperless… Which is my dream and vision. 🙂

    • So, they are not as tough as you might guess 🙂

      (will-it-blend, skip if you know what this is and don’t care.)

  2. Thanks for bringing this to my attention. Good for Apple! Anything that hurts Fox News is good for the world.

    • You’re welcome. FOX is really messing with people. Even if you don’t watch it, the babble they spout gets treated as truth and passed on to others. It’s like a virus. The FOX-1 virus.


Leave a Reply

Categories

