Posted by: Mike P. | February 6, 2010

Let it Snow!


I really did not think we would get a snow storm this weekend. It was much later arriving than it should have been and it was relatively warm outside – above freezing at any rate. So often in this area (North Eastern Maryland), we just end up with rain, or even worse, an ice storm. But, this morning, I was greeted with quite a bit of snow.

The logical choice would have been to get up around 8 or so and do an initial cleanup, but I stayed up til 2 am reading whatever everyone is writing. That’s the problem with getting good twitter and blog feeds – there is a lot of interesting stuff to read. So, I rolled out of bed 11ish and kinda debated what to do. But, then the snow started to fall heavier, so it became rather obvious what to do.

My first look at the snow from ground zero.

Snow occupies a special place in my life. Because snow blowers exist, and I am lucky enough to be able to afford one, I can clear the snow (see about me, spinal cord injury, use two canes to walk.) So, the snow blower becomes my 7.5hp walker. I can walk as fast as it goes on the first two speeds, and that is as fast as you are supposed to go when blowing snow anyhow. So, it all works out. I have gotten stronger in the past few years, so now I can pull start it if it conks out, and I can push it back to garage if all else fails. I do not carry my canes out with me when using the blower, so having a plan to get back to them is important. Oh yeah, there is my littlish boat with its 90 hp Honda on the back.

It’s nice that we do not have to cover it for the winter. Most people cover their boats with giant sheets of plastic. For the first few years after these plastic sheets came out, the dumpsters at marinas were full of plastic in the spring time. Now, I think you can mail the plastic sheets somewhere and they are recycled. That’s a big improvement. Anyhow, I digress.

Enough of the driveway is clear so the truck can get out.

Today’s snow was wet and heavy. If you live in a really cold place with normal snow, you might not appreciate just how heavy this stuff can get. Normally, a snow blower will shoot dry snow 30-40′. Wet snow, 2′-3′. If that. But it worked out.

Snow Blower Needs a Rest

Now, I am really tired. But, it was worth it. It’s nice to know that I am not completely at the mercy of nature. And I even got to help my neighbor by making a few passes up and down his driveway.

Responses

  1. hmm, never thought of a snow blower as a engine powered walker before πŸ™‚

    • You’ve never been 100′ down a slippery slope when the engine stalled and you have to either try to pull start the engine, push the snow blower back up the drive way or crawl πŸ™‚ I didn’t used to be able to pull start it, but now I can pretty easily.


Leave a Reply

Categories

